Star of David and Kabala’s Great Pillars of the Tree of Life

Tree of Life: The Great Pillars 

Victory, Glory and Foundation are the lower, psychological counterparts of the higher, spiritual principles of Mercy, Judgment and Beauty. The latter, in turn, are the spiritual counterparts or manifestations of Wisdom, Intelligence and Power. 

Mercy is also known as Compassion and includes Generosity. It is associated with freedom. Judgment is the same as Perception but is also known as Severity, Strength, Rigour, Righteousness and Justice. It is associated with discipline. Both mercy and judgment, or freedom and discipline, are needed in balance with each other. The generosity of mercy can be indulgent, self-defeating, blind and powerless without the strength given it by clear judgment and right discipline. Judgment, on the other hand, can be cold, harsh and altogether too severe without the warmth and generosity of compassion. Heart and mind need to act together in harmony, and then beauty ensues. Beauty lies at the centre of the Tree of Life and signifies the manifest heart of God, the balance and harmony point of all things. 

This balancing of the opposites is represented by what are known as the Great Pillars, signified by the three verti cal lines of the Tree of Life. The right-hand pillar is headed by Wisdom, the creative Light, symbolised by the Sun as the giver of light and with Mercy being known as the right hand of God. The left-hand pillar is headed by Intelligence, the sensiti ve Mind, symbolised by the Moon as the receiver and reflector of light and with Judgment being known as the left hand of God. The middle pillar is crowned by the Crown, with Beauty at its centre, symbolised by the Star of David. 

As the giver of light, symbolised by the Sun, the right-hand pillar is called the ‘pillar of fire’; whilst the left-hand pillar as the receiver of light, symbolised by the Moon, is known as the ‘pillar of water’. The former is represented by the upward-pointing equilateral triangle, the latter by the downward-pointing equilateral triangle. Their balance, harmony and union is signified by Solomon’s Seal, which produces the ‘fi re-water’ or ‘ether’ of perfect, revealed Light, symbolised by the Star of David (the Christ Star). 

Basics Tree of Life,

Introduction to the Kabala Star of David

The Kabala Star of David

Several versions of Cabala have evolved throughout the ages. The ancient Hebrew Cabala contained seven sephiroth which is reflected by the seven pointed star (Star of David), the candelabra and the seven celestial bodies which were predominant influences prior to the discovery of the planets Uranus, Neptune and Pluto.

– The Astrological Implications of the Cabala, by Tracy Porter, Angelfire (

Kabbalah teaches that G d created the world with seven spiritual building blocks—His seven emotional attributes. Accordingly, the entire creation is a reflection of these seven foundational attributes. They are: Chesed (Kindness), Gevurah (Severity), Tiferet (Harmony), Netzach (Perseverance), Hod (Splendor), Yesod (Foundation) and Malchut (Royalty).

Correspondingly, the Star of David contains seven compartments—six peaks protruding from a center.

The upper right wing is Chesed.
The upper left wing is Gevurah.
The upper center peak is Tiferet. Kabbalah teaches that Tiferet finds its source in Ketter, “the Crown,” which is infinitely higher than all the divine attributes which are involved in the “mundane” pursuit of creating worlds.
The lower right wing is Netzach.
The lower left wing is Hod.
The center is Yesod. Yesod is “Foundation,” and as such all the other attributes are rooted in, and give rise from, this attribute.

The star’s bottom that descends from its belly is Malchut—the attribute that absorbs the energies of the higher six attributes and uses them to actually descend and create everything—and “reign” over them.

– What is the Mystical Significance of the Star of David, (

* Mapping the Star of David upon the Lower Seven Sephiroth of Tree of Life *
Above Right- Chesed, Mercy
Above Center- Tiphareth, Beauty
Above Left- Geburah, Severity
Middle Center- Yesod, Foundation
Below Right- Netzach, Victory
Below Center- Malkuth, Kingdom 
Below Left- Hod, Splendor